France squad at the 2020 Olympics: There’s a World Champion, No Pogba’s Incarnation

France has determined 21 names for soccer at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. The coach of the French soccer squad for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics, Sylvain Ripoll, only includes 21 players although regulations allow each contestant to include a squad of 22 names.

The 2020 Olympics in football will be held from July 21 to August 7. Football sports matches will be staged in 6 cities, namely Tokyo, Yokohama, Kashima, Saitama, Sendai, and Sapporo.

Each team is still allowed to bring players past the age limit, but the quota is only limited to three. In the French squad, the quota of three senior players is filled by Florian Thauvin (28 years), Andre Pierre-Gignac (35 years), and Teji Savanier (29 years).

Florian Thauvin is not a random player considering that he was also part of the France squad that won the 2018 World Cup.

“Can’t wait to start this beautiful tournament and give the best for the team,” said Thauvin, who is now working in Mexico with Tigres UANL.

Despite having a world champion like Thauvin, the French coach, Sylvain Ripoll, was confused because he couldn’t bring in the players he wanted.

Because the Olympics are not included in the FIFA calendar, some clubs are allowed to refuse a call from the national team. Rennes also detained Eduardo Camavinga, a figure full of talent who was predicted to be the incarnation of Paul Pogba.

Apart from Camavinga, Ripoll also cannot include several other names who have promising talents such as Maxence Caqueret (Lyon), Amine Gouiri (Nice), and Benoit Badiashile (AS Monaco). Camavinga, Caqueret, Gouri, and Badiashile were not released by their respective clubs.

France squad at 2020 Olympics: Goalkeepers: Paul Bernardoni (Angers), Stefan Bajic (Saint-Etienne), Dimitry Bertaud (Montpellier) Defenders: Melvin Bard (Lyon), Anthony Caci (Strasbourg), Ismael Doukoure (Valenciennes), Pierre Kalulu ( AC Milan), Clement Michelin (Lens), Timothee Pembele (PSG), Modibo Sagnan (Real Sociedad).

Midfielders: Alexis Beka Beka (Caen), Jeremy Gelin (Rennes), Enzo Le Fee (Lorient), Teji Savanier (Montpellier), Lucas Tousart (Hertha Berlin). Forwards: Andre-Pierre Gignac (Tigres UANL), Randal Kolo Muani (Nantes), Isaac Lihadji (Lille), Nathanael Mbuku (Reims), Arnaud Nordin (Saint-Etienne), Florian Thauvin (Tigres UANL).

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.