UEFA officially allows Euro 2020 participating countries to bring 26 players

UEFA officially allows European Cup 2020 participants to register 26 players in their squad. This decision was taken in view of the COVID-19 pandemic which has not subsided.
It was previously reported that the UEFA national committee recommended that Euro 2020 increase the number of players registered. In the previous edition, participating countries were only allowed to bring a maximum of 23 players.

This proposal appears to anticipate if there are players who contract COVID-19 ahead of the tournament. The recommendation of the UEFA national committee has now received approval from the UEFA executive committee

UEFA officially announced that the countries participating in the 2020 European Cup are allowed to register 26 players. The deadline for player registration ends on June 1.

“In order to reduce the risk of the team facing a shortage of players who can compete for a particular match due to a positive COVID-19 test result and then a quarantine ordered by the responsible authorities, it has been decided to increase the number of players registered for all participating teams to 26 players,” read a statement on the official UEFA website.

“However, 23 players will remain the maximum number permitted on the match sheet (in accordance with Law 3 of the IFAB Act of Games which allows a maximum of 12 substitutes to be named in national team A matches), including three goalkeepers,” continued the statement.

In this new rule, UEFA also allows changes to the list of players before the first match. Condition, players who are replaced suffer serious injuries or medical problems.

For the same reason, the goalkeeper may also be replaced with a player who is not on the player list in every match. This is allowed even when another goalkeeper on the roster is still able to play.

The 2020 European Cup itself will take place from 11 June to 11 July. This event will be held in 11 countries, namely Italy, Azerbaijan, Russia, the Netherlands, Romania, England, Scotland, Spain, Germany and Hungary.






Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.